Why Sylvia Plath

May 5, 2013 § 3 Comments

My theory is that there are few who really see a reason to keep on living
We only pretend for the sake of being seen
It is our curiosity that saves us in the end
The thought that maybe, after all this shit, we will find triumph
And our sadness will be recognized as truth

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Why Sylvia Plath

  • indytony says:

    I appreciate this very plaintive, yet lovely poem.

    I was drawn here while doing a tag search for “Sylvia Plath” posts.

    I am currently reading Plath’s journals in preparation for a writing project and I’m hoping to foster some dialogue about Plath’s life and work. I did a brief post on her early perspectives here –

    http://writingforfoodinindy.wordpress.com/2013/05/25/beauty-out-of-sorrow-reflections-of-a-young-sylvia-plath/

    I would love for you to drop by and join the conversation.

    Keep up the good blogging.

    • Stella Trout says:

      Thank you for your comment, Tony. I was glad to be reminded of Sylvia Plath’s journals via your post. I am staring at Plath’s journals now, the heavy book sitting calmly on my shelf. I have never been able to finish the book, as I find such sorrow in her struggle with illness but you know, it’s been a while, maybe I’ll check in with Sylvia again. Thank you for sharing.

      • indytony says:

        You are most welcome. I have not been able to finish Plath’s journals either. Having bipolar disorder myself, I’ve simply judged it too risky.

        Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Why Sylvia Plath at Stella Trout's Mouth.

meta

